For immediate release October 4, 1938

R-22

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION Washington

Elmer F. Andrews, Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor, today (Tuesday) announced the tentative selection of twelve regional offices to be used in the administration of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 after the preliminary period when, under a small initial appropriation only a skeleton staff will be used.

Regional offices will be set up as rapidly as possible. It is hoped that several can be in operation by October 24 when, with certain exceptions, the Law requires that employees engaged in interstate commerce or the production of goods for interstate commerce must be paid a wage of not less than 25 cents an hour and must receive overtime after 44 hours of work per week.

"As regional directors are appointed", Mr. Andrews said, "every effort will be made to have them in the field as promptly as possible. However, all field jobs are being filled under civil-service requirements and some delay is inevitable.

"Regional directors, as appointed, will be brought to Washington for preliminary training. It is expected that when these offices are in operation all complaints of noncompliance with the law, requests for information and interpretations can be handled in the field where the regional staff will be familiar with local problems."

Mr. Andrews said he hoped to have at least fifty representatives of the Division in the field by October 24 to serve as a liaison with the State departments of Labor or to inform employers and labor as to the application of the law and to begin enforcement.

(47)

Regional heedquarters were tentatively located in Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Richmond, Cleveland, Chicago, Birmingham, Minneapolis, Kansas City, Houston, Denver, and San Francisco.

The Wage and Hour Division regions were announced as:

Region I, Boston. 'Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island.

Region II, New York. New York.

Region III, Philadelphia. Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania.

Region IV, Richmond. District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia.

Region V, Cleveland. Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio.

Region VI, Chicago. Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin.

Region VII, Birmingham or Atlanta. Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Tennessee.

Region VIII, Minneapolis. Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota.

Region IX, Kansas City. Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri.

Region X, Houston. Texas, Louisiana.

Region XI, Denver. New Mexico, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Utah, Wyoming.

Region XII, San Francisco. California, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Arizona.

- 2 -